Kiddo Life · Mom Life · Postpartum · Uncategorized

Sit down and hold your baby

Cleaning and scrubbing can wait ’til tomorrow

For babies grow up we’ve learned to our sorrow,

So quiet down cobwebs and dust go to sleep

I’m rocking my baby, and babies don’t keep.

 Author: Ruth Hulburt Hamilton


This poem has been in my head ever since I was a little girl. My mom said it often and it always struck me as important. As a mother, I have spent many days repeating the words over and over to myself…..Babies don’t keep….One of the saddest realities of motherhood.
So just sit down. And hold that baby. It’s okay. Really.

Leave a Reply

